TCC 2020 Election Results

October 13, 2020
Contact: Doreen Deaton • Executive Director of Communications • • 907-388-9903

TCC 2020 Election Results

Fairbanks, Alaska This afternoon, October 13th, 2020, the Tanana Chiefs Conference (TCC) Full Board of Director’s voted to elect new leadership for TCC. TCC by-laws call for the election of positions by delegates during the Annual Tanana Chiefs Conference Full Board Meeting, however the original meeting that was scheduled for March 16th through March 19th was postponed due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.

The election results are as follows:

  • TCC President/Chairman (previously held by Victor Joseph) – “PJ” Pollack B. Simon, Jr.
  • TCC Executive Board of Directors
    • Upper Tanana Subregion; Herbie Demit– 3 year term (2020-23)
    • Yukon Koyukuk Subregion; Carl Burgett – 3 year term (2020-23)
  • TCC Regional Health Board
    • Yukon Flats Subregion; Patricia Salmon – 3 year term (2020-23)
    • Upper Kuskokwim Subregion: Agnes Tony – 3 year term (2020-23)
  • TCC Education Council
    • Lower Yukon Subregion, Vacant – 3 year term (2020-23)
    • Yukon Tanana Subregion, Phyllis Erhart – 3 year term (2020-23)
  • Interior Athabascan Tribal College Board Trustees
    • Upper Kuskokwim Subregion – Martha Runkle – 3 year term (2020-23)
    • Upper Tanana Subregion – Gerald Albert – 3 year term (2020-23)
  • AFN Interior Village Representative –
    • Julie Roberts-Hyslop – 1 year term (2020-21)
  • IRHA Board of Commissioners –
    • Fred Bifelt – 3 year term (2020-23)

Tribal members representing 42 communities from across Interior Alaska gathered today virtually and in person for the Annual Convention. In person attendees of the convention were only limited to the tribal delegates, candidates and their spouses, and key TCC staff.


A webcast of the convention is available online at

About Tanana Chiefs Conference: TCC is a non-profit organization that works toward meeting the health and social service challenges for more than 10,000 Alaska Natives spread across a region of 235,000 square miles in Interior Alaska.