Legacy of Our Elders

The Legacy of Our Elders is a project which documents the lives of 18 Athabascan elders throughout the Tanana Chiefs Conference region. Listen to their stories of true strength and perseverance; what they went through, what they learned, and their advice for future generations.

Click on their name below to listen to their story.

Leo Lolnitz

Jerry Isaac

Roy David

Luke Titus

Frank Miller

Joseph Maillelle

Trimble Gilbert
Arctic Village

Howard Luke

Nancy James
Fort Yukon

Sam Demientieff
Holy Cross

Tanana Chiefs Conference (TCC) holds copyright to all of the recordings provided on this site. TCC has permission to use the images included in this project. We are providing access to these videos solely for educational purposes. By providing access to these materials on our site, does not constitute the right to copy, make a profit from or publish these materials. No use (beyond limited quotation) should be made of these interviews without the express permission of Tanana Chiefs Conference.

To gain permission to use these materials, please e-mail the Communications Department at Communications_Dept@tananachiefs.org