Cultural Committee

Written by Communications_Dept on . Posted in Newsletter Current Only

When designing the layout of the new Tok Clinic, Tanana Chiefs Conference wanted to ensure that the facility was something that was reflective of area by incorporating different cultural elements into the design. To assist in this process, TCC formed a cultural committee comprised of representative experts from surrounding communities to meet with the architects to provide input on the design.

The committee includes; Jerry Isaac of Tanacross, Chai Albert of Northway, Daisy Northway of Tok, Evelyn Combs of Healy Lake, Roy David of Tetlin, Tracy Charles-Smith of Dot Lake, and Ben Juneby of Eagle.

Through these meetings, the architect will pull design elements from the mountains, rivers, forests, and northern lights to incorporate into the clinic design.

“The cultural committee gives great insight to what is important to them, what they want to see in a facility to make it feel like it’s theirs and resonates with the subregion,” explains Executive Director of Health Services Jacoline Bergstrom who also participates in the Cultural Committee meetings.